Financial News

Goa municipal council elections: Congress-GFP alliance bags Margao chief posts; Mapusa, Mormugao get BJP-backed head, deputies

Products You May Like

Goa Municipal Council ChiefLyndon Pereira (L) and Deepali Sawal.

The Margao Municipal Council has bought its new Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson who had been backed by the Opposition alliance comprising Goa Ahead Occasion and the Congress whereas the Mapusa and Mormugao Municipal councils have gotten BJP backed candidates as their heads.

GFP-backed Lyndon Pereira was elected chairperson whereas Chief of Opposition Digambar Kamat-backed Deepali Sawal has been elected Vice-Chairperson of the Margao Municipal Council.

Associated Information

GFP President and Fatorda MLA Vijai Sardesai congratulated the candidates. “On the Camara with @digambarkamat to personally want Lyndon Pereira & Dipali Sawal of Margao Civic Alliance, elected unopposed as CP & VCP of MMC! The one civic physique which via unity of main opposition events triumphed over the cash & muscle energy of the ruling occasion!” stated the previous deputy CM.

Lyndon and Deepali had been elected unopposed. In 2015 as effectively, the Margao Civic Alliance of GFP-Congress had received the Margao. Nevertheless, the alliance fell halfway after Goa Ahead Occasion prolonged its assist to the then Manohar Parrikar-led BJP authorities after the 2017 meeting election. Nevertheless, the present Chief Minister Pramod Sawant couldn’t preserve the NDA united and the GFP parted methods with the BJP. Each Congress and the GFP got here collectively once more this 12 months earlier than the municipal polls to maintain the BJP at bay and succeeded in Margao. The BJP may solely win 7 seats of the 25-member civic physique.

In Mapusa Municipal Council, BJP-backed candidates Shubhangi Vaigankar and Shekar Benkar have been elected chairperson and vice-chairperson respectively. They had been elected unopposed.

In the meantime, in a lift to the ruling BJP, three Mapusa councillors – two independents and one backed by MGP joined the saffron occasion on Tuesday. The impartial councillors, Tarak Arolkar of ward 7 and Vikas Arolkar of ward 16, and MGP-backed Viraj Phadke of ward 8 joined the BJP on the occasion’s North Goa workplace.

“Mapusa Municipal Council elected Councillors Adv Tarak Arolkar Mr. Vikas Arolkar and Mr. Viraj Balu Fadke formally joined @BJP4Goa in presence of CM @DrPramodPSawant Ji, My finest needs to them and I’m assured their assist and inclusion within the #BJP will strengthen our occasion,” stated BJP Goa President Sadanand Shet Tanavade welcoming the leaders.

In Mormugao, Damodar Kaskar was declared chairperson and Shradha Mahale as a Vice-Chairperson of the municipal council. They had been additionally elected unopposed. The BJP had received 19 of 25 wards at MMC and has the assist of two impartial candidates.

Get stay Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and newest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Take a look at newest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and observe us on Twitter.

Monetary Categorical is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and keep up to date with the newest Biz information and updates.

Products You May Like