Financial News

West Bengal Election Phase 6 polls: Number of constituencies, candidates, voting date, time – All you need to know

Products You May Like

West Bengal Phase 6 polls voting date time constituencies full listWest Bengal Phase 6 polls voting date time constituencies full listVoting will start at 7 am and will conclude at 6 pm.

West Bengal Election 2021: West Bengal is all set to vote in the sixth phase of polls tomorrow amid a record surge in COVID-19 cases. The Election Commission has already curtailed the campaigning period and has extended the silence period from 48 hours to 72 hours for the remaining three phases to contain the COVID-19 cases in the state. So far, voting for 180 constituencies has been completed and 114 seats will go to polls in the next three phases, on April 22, April 26 and April 29. Votes will be counted on May 2.

West Bengal Election 2021 Phase 6 Polls Number of Voters and Constituencies: Over one crore voters will decide the fate of 306 candidates from 43 assembly constituencies. Of these 43 seats, the Matua community will be key in about 17 constituencies. Both the TMC and the BJP have pitched hard to gain the confidence of Matuas, who make for a large chunk of the state’s Scheduled Caste population, in most of the 17 assembly segments going to polls in this phase in North 24 Parganas district and some of the nine seats in Nadia. Apart from these constituencies, elections will be held in nine seats in the Uttar Dinajpur district and eight in Purba Bardhaman.

Related News

West Bengal Election 2021 Phase 6 Polls Security Arrangement: Security measures have been heightened in view of the violence in the previous phases, particularly the death of five people in Cooch Behar in the fourth phase of polling on April 10. The Election Commission has decided to deploy at least 1,071 companies of central forces in the sixth phase to ensure free and fair voting.

West Bengal Election 2021 Phase 6 Polls Key Candidates: Prominent names in the sixth phase election include BJP’s national vice president Mukul Roy, TMC ministers Jyotipriyo Mallick, Chandrima Bhattacharya, CPI(M) leader Tanmay Bhattacharya, TMC candidate and film director Raj Chakraborty and actor-turned-politician Koushani Mukherjee.

West Bengal Election 2021 Phase 6 Polling Booth and Time: Voting will be held at 14,480 polling stations in the 43 assembly segments of the four districts. This phase will witness the stiff competition between the ruling Trinamool Congress and its main rival BJP. Voting will start at 7 am and will conclude at 6 pm.

West Bengal Election 2021 Phase 6 List of Constituencies:

Chopra                                           Islampur
Goalpokhar                                    Chakulia
Karandighi                                     Hemtabad (SC)
Kaliaganj (SC)                                 Raiganj
Itahar                                              Karimpur
Tehatta                                           Palashipara
Kaliganj                                          Nakashipara
Chapra                                           Krishnanagar Uttar
Nabadwip                                      Krishnanagar Dakshin
Bagda (SC)                                     Bangaon Uttar (SC)
Bangaon Dakshin (SC)                   Gaighata (SC)
Swarupnagar (SC)                          Baduria
Habra                                             Ashoknagar
Amdanga                                       Bijpur
Naihati                                           Bhatpara
Jagatdal                                         Noapara
Barrackpur                                     Khardaha
Dum Dum Uttar                             Bhatar
Purbasthali Dakshin                       Purbasthali Uttar
Katwa                                             Ketugram
Mangalkot                                     Ausgram (SC)
Galsi (SC)

The Election Commission has said that voting will be done adhering to strict COVID-19 protocols. The voters will be given hand gloves while wearing of masks is mandatory. Those without masks will be given masks at the polling booth. The temperature of voters will also be checked at the entrance of the polling room.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP chief J P Nadda and Bollywood star Mithun Chakraborty led the campaign of the saffron party, which has fortified into TMC’s main challenger in this election. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee spearheaded the TMC campaign along with her nephew and party’s youth wing chief Abhishek Banerjee.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Products You May Like